top of page

First Week in Rwanda Comes to an End


It has been 7 days since I landed here: Kigali, Rwanda. Boy has it been an adventure!! It has began in ways I never imagined. The shape God has creating it into isn't what I expected and for it only being the first week it is more than I could imagine.

In fact, as I type this I am still trying to get over the adrenaline of taking my first adventure out of the guesthouse alone. I had asked the man at the guesthouse to help me. I was nervous because the one working was the one who I felt had the least English. He wasn’t sure where I was asking to go. He told the moto driver to take me to some motel. I got dropped off there, paid the moto driver, and panicked. I at least knew how to walk back to the guesthouse. It wouldn’t be a short walk, but I knew the way. After I paced the side of the road for a bit trying to call my friend Gash, another moto driver stopped. He at least knew where I was trying to go. So I arrived at Bourbon Coffee. It cost more money then it should have, but I made it. I just don’t know how getting back will go. Oh geez.

I still can’t believe I did it. My other option was staying in the guesthouse all day. I had done some writing, took a nap, and was hungry and bored. Therefore I figured it was time to venture out. I know I have to figure it out eventually and can’t have those I know here holding my hand the whole time. If I truly want to make this country a place I call my second home I should probably learn to get around.

This last week has been filled with really really hard moments and really really wonderful moments. I have spent much of the week visiting each of the Vineyard churches here. All of which are on different edges of Kigali. While they are fairly different churches they each hold a similar quality: communities of deep poverty. I have seen poverty on incredibly deep levels. This has been difficult. I have witnessed children gathering unclean water and lacking good hygiene, while back home I know I have access to some of the cleanest water in the world. I’ve seen children with special needs who lack the resources and services to live the lives they deserve. I’ve seen children wandering around in dirty, ragged clothes when back home I have a closet full of clothes. Then there are the children who should be in school, but instead are walking the roads and out playing. There are so many of those children.

One of the things I have found really interesting about this city is the way the socio-economic statuses seem to overlap. I know it isn't this case in all of the city, but there are places where there seem to be homes of the upper, middle, and lower class all right next to each other. From where I am sitting I can see many houses of all classes not far from each other. I have found this interesting. It seems they are often in very seperate places.

Just an observation.

The children here have certainly snagged my heart. The more children whose hands I shake and eyes I look into the more my heart is drawn to these communities. It is becoming more clear, every day, this is where God has called me. He has called me here to use my gifts, heart, passions, and resources to alleviate the pressures of poverty. The specifics of how that is going to look are still unknown, but I am praying for God’s wisdom to know where to move forward. I knew before coming here, this wasn’t a “vacation” this was a trip to explore possible ministry opportunities. It has always been that. God is providing those ministry opportunities which is so cool. Please join me in praying for God’s guidance in that.

Tomorrow begins week 2. Saturday will first be spent at a coffee shop run by an organization called International Teams. They do work with refugees all over the world. Earlier in the week, Antoine brought me there to learn more about it. It was a quite day, but I was able to talk with Benjamin who I believe is an administrator there. This particular organization is ran by a Canadian/Rwandan couple but they are back in Canada currently. Tomorrow we are going to go back to see it on its busy day. Then after that we will be returning to the Muyange Vineyard which is Antoine's church. The children there are going to put on a program for me. On Sunday, I will be teaching the children at their service. I am really nervous and excited about this!

Another interesting experience here is being a muzungu (white person). I experienced this in Uganda and that it was strange. But here it is a different level. I think mostly because I am the only one. Yesterday, as we drove into Mageregera where one of the churches is you could hear the word "Muzungu" being shouted or utteresd. I said to Antoine, "Muzungus don't come here very often do they?" Which he said no to. It is uncomfortable. It isn't bad, it's just uncomfortable. But hey most of this journey has been so far!

Thank you again to all who are following this journey! It means so much to me. Your prayers are felt and appreciated oh so much! I am thrilled to see what week 2 has in store.


SEARCH BY TAGS:

be present  comparison  fear  lupus  rwanda  story

bottom of page