top of page

Asking for Support and Thank You!

Asking for financial support has always been a task I’ve been uncomfortable with. I’ve never really enjoyed asking someone to sacrifice their finances to help me. I’m sure some of it stems from my dislike for asking for help in general. For as long as I can remember, I’ve struggled to ask for help. I’ve never wanted to be a burden on someone else or risk failing at the task they are supporting me in and therefore fail them. For that reason, I’ve always leaned towards not asking for help.

Surprise, surprise God has been challenging me in that!

I had hoped to pay for the majority of this trip on my own. I think the reason for that was because then if I failed I would only let myself down, not those who sacrificed their own finances to help me. God has told me that’s not really a healthy way to go about life. For one, I need to have my identity completely rooted in Him which helps that fear of failure thing and to trust him! But I also need to realize needing community, and asking for help, isn’t a bad thing.

God created us to need community. He created us to follow our dreams together, not alone. I might be the only one getting on that plane, but I am by no means doing this solo.

My eyes were opened up to this when my financial situation changed. While it was hard, and at times is still hard, God has taught me an abundance of goodness via it. Included in that package of goodness, is letting go of my pride and asking for help. I think one of the reasons this is important is because it allows others to entered into this journey with me. I had worried others wouldn’t be interested in supporting me. I feared no one would back me, because well Satan kept telling me no one would and for some reason I believed him.

Oh was he wrong though!

I have been absolutely blown away by the support that has been poured out on me. I don’t just mean financially, but also through love, kind words, allowing me to talk nonstop about Rwanda and genocide, as well as through prayers. While I have been ridiculously amazed at all that has sacrificially been given to help make this trip a reality, I would like to continue to ask for more support. I am close to what I need but am not quite there. I hope to raise at least an additional $1000 before I go. These funds will help to purchase supplies for blessing the church and organizations I will be working with. It will cover costs of supplies for doing a few children's ministry trainings. It will also help to purchase gifts for those in Rwanda who have played a role in this dream becoming a reality. It is very customary, in most African cultures, to give gifts. I want to be able to do this in a meaningful way. There are a few individuals, and their families, who have played crucial roles in putting all the pieces to this trip together. I really couldn’t be doing it without them. They have been willing to teach me, house me, feed me, and partner with me in what God is up to and I would love to be able to thank them for that!

If you feel led to financially support me THANK YOU! There are multiple ways for to do so.

One way is to purchase a t-shirt! These will be on sale until May 20th! So get yours soon! I need to sell at least one more in order for them to be printed! You can find them here.

The inspiration for the shirt initially came from the Mumford & Sons song “Below My Feet”. As I pondered the lines: “Let me learn from where I have been. Keep my eyes to serve, my hands to learn” I realized this was what I wanted my trip to be about. The acts of serving and learning coupled with loving were what I envisioned the entire trip looking like. I don’t want there to be any part of my time in Rwanda and Uganda, where I am not doing one of these three things if not all of them.

Plus, Jesus calls us to those things as well and that's kind of important to me!

Another way you could financially support me is through online donations. You can do that here. And I will appreciate you forever and ever!

Again, THANK YOU!

This trip has begun to take on a shape I am beyond excited for and couldn’t imagine it being like. God has surprised me over and over again with the opportunities that have begun to open up and the relationships being built. I originally envisioned this trip being one of learning alone. I wanted to learn anything and everything I could about Rwanda, but God has surprised me with serving opportunities. Those opportunities are in an area I am incredibly passionate about and feel called to. God has undeniably given me a gift and passion for seeing children know how deeply valued and loved they are by Jesus and I CANNOT wait to get to participate in that while in Rwanda.

I just can’t say it enough. THANK YOU! I am beyond thankful to all of you who have loved and supported me over the years. The love that has been poured out on me has carried me to this point. You called out giftings in me that I sometimes flat out denied were there. You’ve walked me through healing of so many hurts and wounds, which has been essential to getting me where I am today. Oh I could go on and on with what I am thankful for, but will stop for now with one last:

THANK YOU!!

SEARCH BY TAGS:

be present  comparison  fear  lupus  rwanda  story

bottom of page